Organic Milk Kefir

I’ve sensed something different since I’ve started using organic milk for making kefir. The first step is heating the milk to a temperature of 180 F (82 C). The organic milk smells better. It has a sweet aroma like pudding or custard when heated. So in addition to reducing my chemical exposure and creating a demand for more bee friendly fields, choosing organic has created a better scent in the kitchen. I wonder if anyone else has noticed something similar.

When I told a friend with Lebanese ancestry that I make kefir, she immediately started to talk about the Tandoori chicken her grandmother would make. Marinating chicken in yogurt or kefir and then grilling or baking is common in cuisines from the Mediterranean to India. My friend’s description of one of her favorite meals sparked my interest. I read 3 or 4 online recipes, then put my own together. I’ve made Tandoori chicken several times and never used exactly the same combination of garlic, herbs, and spices. But each time we’ve enjoyed it.

Reading several recipes can give a sense of the technique and essential ingredients. Techniques are better than recipes. Recipes are guidelines.

One thought on “Organic Milk Kefir

Leave a Reply

