Old Country Kale

IMG_20150928_182058644

The old country for me is the Netherlands. While visiting Amsterdam, I found the last names of all 4 of my grandparents listed. But after four and five generations in the US, I had no idea where to look for relatives. And after several generations, a high percentage of the few Dutch  words I knew were ones my mother said not to use. But in my home town of Holland, Michigan, some recipes did survive from the old country.

The result of a simple Dutch meal is pictured above. Everything is boiled together in one pot. After 30 minutes, the sausages are taken out and the liquid is poured off and retained for a later soup. The kale and potatoes are mashed together to make the green healthy side. Either in spite of or because of eating this kind of food, the Dutch are the tallest nation in Europe.

Leave a Reply

