November ??

IMG_20151103_200142676 IMG_20151103_192933210

I never made fig preserves in November before, but a later than usual first frost made it possible. Its a really simple recipe. Just add sugar (about 3/4 the volume of the chopped figs) and a splash of lemon juice and boil 15-18 minutes stirring occasionally. I only ended up with a short pint of preserves, but it was more figs than my wife and I were going to eat fresh.

Another unusual November harvest was dill. It was an unplanned volunteer shown here with some kale.The kale was planned and is a normal November garden crop here. Most years it wouldn’t still be suffering from the cabbage loopers.

IMG_20151103_180429830

Looking and tasting good this November is my lettuce. Below is my Landis WInter Lettuce that I’m trying for the first time. One I cut last week is coming back nicely. I’m also just cutting just outer leaves on some. Its liking these days when our highs are in the 70’s and lows in the 50’s. I will find out later if it lives up to its name as a winter lettuce. IMG_20151105_173640257

Our 10 day forecast has no lows below 40 expected. That gives me time to figure out what I want to do with an abundance of Jalepenos that are out waiting to be harvested. Never put off for tomorrow what you can put off for the day after tomorrow is something I practice as well as preach.

Leave a Reply

