Warm Wet Winter and Inspiration

It could change any time, but so far winter has been mild. In early, December, I noticed a green berry and blooms on an everbearing strawberry. When my grandson comes over, we had been enjoying picking the berries and figs in the yard that had continued to produce into November. I thought I would see if I could extend the season a bit more.

A very simple but effective cold frame came together with just as much effort as it appears. I checked the temperature and it was significantly warmer under the glass. By December 26 I had this strawberry.

The only problem was my grandson was with his other grandparents for the holidays. There are a couple more berries on and he’s back in town. Our forecast is for the coldest night we’ve had, but still only 25. I think a blanket over the glass may offer enough protection. Winter strawberries are not something I’ve ever tried before. This is the inspiration:

IMG_20151206_172658245

That’s Will with some kefir cream cheese he was enjoying.

Leave a Reply

