Everything Happens in June

Planting, protecting, harvesting, celebrating, rethinking, relaxing and keeping a blog topic focused could all happen this month. Some of them have.

The blueberries are ripening earlier than ever this year. The protective bird netting is in place. I do enjoy seeing the robins, blue jays, cardinals, mockingbirds, thrushes and more in the yard. They will still be around. Without the net, the blueberries I planted, watered, and mulched would be their blueberries.

What I just harvested is garlic. The hot dry month of May resulted in the smallest garlic bulbs I’ve ever grown. I had been saving nice sized cloves form what I grew for the past five years. But I won’t be replanting this year’s crop. I like saving seeds, but not when it is going to seriously affect yield. This fall I’ll be buying garlic to plant for the first time in years.

Where I dug the garlic, I planted okra. Planting the first week of June will not result in the earliest okra in the area. But by mid-September, I will likely have all the okra I care for. Okra is probably the easiest vegetable to grow here. One planting will keep producing until frost.

IMG_20160606_113454644

The cilantro that is just coming up in this pot is not at all like okra. To keep a usable supply in hot weather, it needs to be planted every 2-3 weeks. In our summer weather it has two brief life stages: gone to seed, and about to go to seed.

IMG_20160603_125932986

And in the basement, this is the fruit cap on a batch of wine I’m starting. Yeast bubbles are visible just left of center. My sister-in-law from north Alabama is also a blueberry grower. She had about 15 pounds of last year’s berries in the freezer. I decided to put them together with my Cayuga grapes that I had frozen. This batch should be ready for the year end holidays. Usually my backyard fruit to wine efforts result in a decent Sangria. Neither the Loire nor Napa valley wineries need to worry about competition from the Tennessee Valley.

7 thoughts on “Everything Happens in June

  1. My blueberries that are in containers this year are starting to ripen also. Next year I will plant them in the back yard. I noticed yours are planted alongside the grapes. Do you think it would be safe to plant mine by elderberries?

    • I don’t know of elderberries creating any issue for blueberries. As long as blueberries are in a place with acidic soil and get watered during dry spells, they do well.

  2. Yummmm wine. I am new to wine and I still get excited that it is flavorful alcohol instead of vinegar. I won’t be entering any competitions.
    Never had the patience for bolting cilantro in Texas heat. I grew it in my air conditioned house. Lasted an extra day or two before bolting.
    I like your garden and you have water!

Leave a Reply

