Attracting Butterflies

I just learned a new way to attract butterflies. I knew about buddleia, milkweed, parsley, and many other flowering plants. I have those in my yard. This morning I learned of alternative way to attract butterflies. I observed this lovely moving from one pile of dog dung to another. It appears not cleaning up the dog run immediately attracts butterflies. When I typed in butterfly d in a google search the ung appeared as a suggestion. It is something that attracts butterflies as the numerous photos there make clear.

My amateur butterfly identification skills suggest that this is a Gulf Fritillary or Agraulis vanillea as Linnaus would have it. We just keep learning if we are willing.

 

3 thoughts on “Attracting Butterflies

Leave a Reply

